1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Jul 2014

New to MTB! Just bought my first bike.

Hey guys/gals! Like I said I am new to the MTB world and just bought a GT aggressor 2.0. Would love some advice on what my bike could handle. I plan on doing mostly off road riding at my local bike trails, but not sure as to what i should or shouldn't try on the bike. I don't plan on doing any crazy downhill or freestyle stuff on it lol but would love to be able to take on some rough stuff here and there. Any advice would be great!

Thanks!

mtbr member
    Problem is the bike especially the fork are lower end entry level. Forks won't put up with much. Groomed off road trails you'll be fine for a while but rough stuff things are going to start going wrong/wearing out quickly.

My advise (as my bike started its life equipped not a whole lot better but now can handle more than I have the skills for) take it easy on the rough stuff or try to avoid it as much as possible. Enjoy the trails beyond that while either saving up to upgrade parts on your bike or for a bike that's better built to handle what u want to ride.
    Sent from my Nokia Stupid Phone using Tapatalk
    Trek Marlin 29er

Like It, Love It, Want Some More Of It!

Fat-tired Roadie