1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Mar 2010

New to MTB, first time over the bars! (with pics!)

So quick intro, I'm new to MTBing, just got a 2010 Specialized Stumpy Comp.

Been doing this fireroad near my house, nice steady incline for about 4miles then a steeper ascent for about 1mile. Me and a friend finally reached the top of the steeper climb (with plenty of stops lol). We decided to descend down the popular single track and figured we'd just walk the hard parts.

At the very bottom of the single track it opens up to a double and its a pretty fast descent with some fast turns.

Tried to scrub off speed in a straight line before one of the turns, felt like I didn't take enough off and was headed over the cliff side so I hit the brakes mid-turn ... got all squirrelly and at the start of the next straight away I couldn't pull it together and BAM...

Here's the top of my helmet, I'm very glad I was wearing my full face ...

Here's my forearm ...

My shoulder ...

And finally my front rim ...

replacing the front rim is costing me $190 bleh

Pimpmobile
    Mar 2010
    Ouch!

Love the graphics on the helmet... and the foliage stuck on the visor!

Did anybody see you biff? I hate crashing when there's no one watching.
    "Fear not the ob-stackles in your path"

mtbr member
    Aug 2009