1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: new to mtb

mtbr member
    Jan 2013

new to mtb

hi im new to the world of mtbing but not bikes i have rode a bike since i was 4 and loved it i currnetly race bmx and i am a novice i got to watching mtb videos and said im gona do stuff like this wel i went out and got me a mtb and i love it i have already jumped it and i am curruntly build a mtb trail on my land i have 3 friends that live close helping me but only one has a mtb the others are getting theirs latter together we hope to make mtb trails that will be the best in oklahoma my land is mostly woods and flat land there is some terreces here and there so we have to cut trees cut limbs and make our own jumps and stuff we hope to be done by march-april but sadly on my mtb today i hit a jump and did a whip and it bent my back rim looks like i need stronger rims

CSC
    mtbr member
    May 2011
    Photos of bikes and trail features would be awesome! I bet you could build a sweet pump track since it's fairly level there

Cow Clicker
    cool what kid of bike do you have is it built for jumping because there are different types of bikes designed to do different things how much land do you have is it sloped or flat have fun