1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.

Thread: New to MTB...

mtbr member
    May 2007

New to MTB...

Hey,

Congrats to myself for celebrating my birthday yesterday with a new (and also my very first) MTB, a Trek Fuel EX8. I've been riding on the road for 15 years but I'm new to mountain biking.

I live in Pasadena, CA, so anyone who's from the area and can give me some directions for nice trails let me know!

Here are a few pictures of my new bike:

wannabe corporate shill
    Jan 2006
    nice, welcome aboard.

on a less serious note: do you have many nosebleeds with your seat so high? I'm getting light-headed just looking at the photos.

mtbr member
    May 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by grnxb
    nice, welcome aboard.

on a less serious note: do you have many nosebleeds with your seat so high? I'm getting light-headed just looking at the photos.
    Yeah it was indeed too high, I measured the distance between my BB and top of the saddle on my road bike and set this to be the same on my MTB but it looked a little weird and also did not feel that comfortable. I lowered it by about 15mm which seemed to be a lot better. I don't know what the general rule is for saddle height comparison between road and mountain bikes - if there is really one?

mtbr member
    May 2007