1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Jul 2011

New member, new (to me) bike

I'm new to all this, and wanted a decent cheap starter bike to start putting money into. My budget is right around $300, and here's what I got.

Iron Horse Warrior 1.3
    Dart 1 Rock Shock fork
    Alexrims TD17 Anti-snakebite wheels
    Panaracer Fire XC 2.1 Tires
    Shimano trigger shifters and derailleurs
    Hayes MX4 disc brakes

His FS ad said "lots of upgrades" but if I'm not mistaken, the shifters/derailleurs/brakes all came stock on the bike.

Anyhow, when I rode it, it was a bit rough shifting... so I'm debating throwing some kind of better parts on it or just getting a good tune-up and deciding what I want to upgrade later.

He was asking $150, I took it home for $120... good deal or no? I figured even if the Shimano derailleurs are junk, I've got $180 left in my budget for that, pedals, grips, a helmet, crank, front fork, whatever....

mtbr member
    Jun 2011
    What is the level of the Shifters and Derailers?

Just because they say Shimano doesn't mean anything. Shimano makes some great stuff but they also make Junk as well.

I would recommend a tune up to see if that fixes your problems.

Edit: Also if you can that extra money should go to a new fork. The darts suck.

mtbr member
    Jul 2011