mtbr member
    Feb 2014

... and if we just ... New guy about to buy, need advice

I'm new to the sport and am looking for a used bike. I am looking for a fun way to get some exercise and enjoy the outdoors. I'll do street and light trail riding. Nothing too gnarly at least until I can pedal more than 50 yds without being out of breath.

I found a 2000 trek 6000 in what looks to be great shape. I've read many reviews and feel that this bike will suit my needs, at least for a while.

The he bike is a 19.5 inch frame with 26 inch wheels. The owner claims it's been lightly used and I won't be disappointed.

I'm 6',1" and 240 lbs. Is the 19.5 inch frame suitable for my size/weight?

It seems the front DR is the weak link in this model. I may upgrade if it gives me issues. Is there anything else I should specifically inspect prior to purchase?

He listed the bike for $300 but after I showed him its value on bbb, I got him down to $150. Does that seem like a fair price?

Any info or advice regarding this specific model is appreciated as it's the only bike for sale locally in my price range (under $200).

I'm meeting the seller tomorrow afternoon so quick replies are appreciated.

Thanks!

On wuss patrol
    Probably a decent bike for the $150 price if it fits you well, if it's lightly used, and it's been stored in a dry place. The fork has very little travel and from what I read about them, they don't do well with heavier riders as they tend to bottom out. A test ride well tell you more about this aspect. This bike may be a good place to jump in but if you keep at it, you may realize its limitations eventually.

Good luck and welcome to a great sport.
    Sometimes, you need to go fast enough that the trail is a blur to find clarity. -- Wild Bill

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    If it fits ,its 150$ you could ride it awhile and if you don't like it sell it for what you paid.

mtbr member
    Feb 2014
    Bought a 2005 Trek 4500 for $240.

mtbr member