1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    May 2007

new to forum/ bike advice

hey i am new to the mtb scene and found the forum and have been reading and decided to post. i have been a dirt jumping bmx rider since i was like 12 never thought i would get off of a little 20 inch bmx. well i got married and wanted to ride with my wife but the bmx was holding me back on long road rides. i did not want to give up dirt worthyness though so i ran out and bought a bike from *****. it is an iron horse maverick 1.2. after riding for 2 weeks i came across an off road trail off of the w and od well i jumped on it and road and after 1 ride i am now hooked. i realize this bike will not take me to far so i want to get a new one already i will give that one to my wife she dosnt ride hard like me.

i started going to local stores and all tell me something different but i have been recommended a specialized rock hopper and a marin northside trail. both have good reviews and i assume it will come down to riding to decide.