1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Apr 2006

New to biking: Rockhopper or Rockhopper comp

Hey all, I'm new to mountain biking. I'm looking at buying a bike in the $500-$700 range. I like the Specialized rockhoppers, but I'm torn between the Rockhopper ($480) and the Rockhopper Comp ($700).

The rockhopper has Tektro V brakes, SRAM Sx-4 triggers, SRAM 3.0 front derailleur, SRAM SX-5 rear derailer, and rock shox J3 SL fork.

The rockhopper comp has Avid SD-3 brakes, Shimano Deore SL triggers, Shimano Deore front deraileur, Shimano LX rear derailuer, and Rockshox tora 318 fork.

Obviously there is a wide range of price ($230) between the two bikes. My buddy who is pretty knowledgable tells me the Comp is way better because of the Shimano components, and the front shock will last a lot longer than the one on the base rockhopper.

My dillemma is that I'm not a 1-sport guy. I'm pretty much a jack-of-all trades: rock climbing, snowboarding, hiking, kayaking, fishing, and now mountain biking. I don't plan on biking 360 days out of the year, that's just not my style, and I can't afford to spend all my money on just one sport. BUT...I don't want a shitty bike...should I just suck it up and go with the Comp, or will the base 'hopper do me just fine?