1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Apr 2010

New bike for a beginner

Hello All

I am new to riding and have been wanted to get a bike for a while. I am currently looking at two bikes and would like to get everyones opinions or suggestion.
    The bikes I am looking at are the Gary Fisher Katai and the Specialized Hardrock Comp Disc.
    Any feedback on these two bikes would be greatly appreciated.
    Since I am new to riding I am looking in the 500 - 700 price range to get started. If there are any other brand suggestions I am open as I am not dead set on the above.

Thanks for the help.

mtbr member
    Mar 2010
    Brakes: Avid BB5s vs. Promax mechanical disc.
    FD: Shimano Altus vs. C102.
    RD: SRAM X-4 vs. Shimano Acera (equivalent.)
    Rims: Bontrager Ranger vs. Alex RHD. (Think Fisher has the better rims here?)
    Fork: RST NEON ML 63mm vs. Suntour XCT V2 80mm.

Looks to me like the Specialized Hardrock Sport Disc has equivalent or a little bit nicer components and is cheaper.

Also, if $700 is really your top end, you can go up a level in bikes. The Fisher Wahoo Disc is a much better bike for instance- also the Trek 4300 Disc or 4500. The Specialized Rockhopper Comp Disc is a stretch, but if you get a deal on last year's model...