1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Apr 2008

New Bike Advice!!!

I am new to the sport and I am currently looking for my first mountain bike. I will be riding in trails at least once a week. I have been using a friends 2009 Dawes Haymaker 1000 and is not that bad. I have done research and I am leaning to buy a known brand hard tail in one of my local stores. My budget is around $550. There are a lot of choices in my locals stores but I dont know if any of them is better than the other. So I need some advice. I really like the Jamis but dont know if is the best choice. What do you guys think.I currently have a Jamis road bike but I wont mind having another brand if there are better.
    Here are my choices

Specialized Hardrock
    Jamis X3
    Felt Q520
    Trek 3900 Disk or
    Giant Rincon

Thanks in advance

mtbr member
    Jul 2011
    My advice for that price range is to look for a good used bike if you are going to riding a good deal of trails. Otherwise, you just have to ride them around and see what feels best. At that price range they are all going to be very similar in quality and features.
    Frank Webber | Orbea USA
    Customer Service | MTB Promotion

mtbr member
    Apr 2008