1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Jun 2014

New Bike 2014 Haro Flightline 29 Trail better pedals?

Hi everyone!!

I recently purchased my first mountain bike (2014 Haro Flightline 29 Trail) and have started looking into trails and locations I can take it to go riding.

I started riding around my neighborhood and going in and out of uneven surfaces with gravel and ditches to get a feel for the bike and noticed my pedals already cracking. Im 6'1 @ 216lbs

After this occurred I started to doubt the quality of the bike and thought to my self maybe I could have bought something better for the money spent. The bike was $699.99 with a helmet.

Any advice would be recommended on better pedals that could be added.

Thanks!

New Bike 2014 Haro Flightline 29 Trail better pedals?-photo.jpg

mtbr member
    Nov 2011
    anything with removable pins will work, google some they go from $20-$100, get the ones u like the most, or u can start clip less right of the bat, up to u and what trails ur going to ride, if ur gonna hit it hard then go with the pricier stuff like cromo spindles, sealed bearings and such, if not i wouldn't worry about it

mtbr member
    Jun 2014
    Quote Originally Posted by joel787 View Post