1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Oct 2013

Needs advise: Fuji Tahoe 2.0 vs. Airborne Guardian 2.0 - which one is good deal?

Hi there,

I am totally new to mountain bike. Like I said, I need your advise on a Fuji Tahoe 2.0 (available on Fuji Bicycles Tahoe 2.0 Shimano SLX/XT Complete Bike | Backcountry.com) or an Airborne Guardian 2.0 (available at Airborne Bicycles. Guardian 2.0).

Both are at the same prices at USD599. Which one, in your opinion, is a better deal?

Thank you!

mtbr member
    Oct 2012
    I was in the same boat a few days ago. I read and research both bikes intensively. My buddy even got the same Fuji Tahoe 2.0 recently and I had a chance to look at it. Both bikes have good components. The big question is 29" or 26"?? Only you can decide on which one you like better. It's an endless debate.
    For me, I went for the Fuji Tahoe 1.0 because of the full Shimano XT build. For $100 more, I felt it was a better buy. I just sold my FS 29er and wanted to get back on a 26" HT. I felt the FS 29er was overkill for the type of riding I was doing. Nothing wrong with the 29er and I'm sure I'll get another one down the road, but a 26" is still plenty for our local trails here. Both bikes seems to be really good deals, but you have to decide between 29 or 26 first. Good luck.

mtbr member