mtbr member
    Jul 2017

New question here. Need recommendation on a new bike

Hi guys, found you through a google search. I'm shopping for a new bike and I don't want to spend a fortune. Initially I was going to get this deal that I found on ebay but I found one for just $75 more that seems like a better deal.

Diamondback Trace Sport $325
    Diamondback 2017 Trace Sport Mountain Bike Blue | eBay

The main difference that I can see between the 2 models is that the Trace Sport has front shocks while the Insight 2 model does not. I'm a total novice at this so if you guys can point out any other differences, I would appreciate it.

By the way, $325 is the most I'm willing to go. Although I enjoy bike riding, I'm not an enthusiast (yet). I've gained some extra weight over the summer and I will be using mostly for exercise. City riding combined with some occasional trail riding. I don't know if Diamondback bikes are any good, I'm open to suggestions on better brands as long as it doesn't cost me an arm & a leg.

●●●●●●●●◌◌
    For urban only riding, and hard gravel trails you don't need front suspension, so in that respect you may be able to save a bit of cash. You'd have to tell us more specifics.

Beware that online bikes need some assembly, so if you are uncomfortable you may either buy from a bike shop (a bit more expensive) or have them assemble your online purchase.

mtbr member
    that price range is going to be extermely limited, even for a city bike. with that budget, I would be looking as used bikes. how tall are you and what's available on Craigslist?

mtbr member
    Jul 2017
    Quote Originally Posted by phlegm View Post
    For urban only riding, and hard gravel trails you don't need front suspension, so in that respect you may be able to save a bit of cash. You'd have to tell us more specifics.
    What kind of specifics are you looking for?

Quote Originally Posted by mack_turtle View Post