mtbr member
    Sep 2011

Need a new Headset

They bike I recently purchased had a lot of play in the top of the headset and i hoped I could just adust it out. I recently rebuilt my shocks and since they were off I figured I would investigate. I discovered the lower bearing is a little crunchy I tried to clean it out the best I could and re-grease. I noticed in the upper bearing area that the there was some obvious wear on the aluminum. I reassembled it and was able to get the play out of it. Then I rode it this morning, put it threw a little abuse. I didn't notice there to be any play on the trails but when i got home before i cleaned it when i stopped i herd the "tick". So I grabbed the break and tick, tick, tick.... it was back I had a feeling that this would happen.

So basically what Im asking is, is there a standard size? I have a 98' Specialized Ground Control FSR. With an 01' Manitou X-Vert Dual Crown fork. I'm a newbie again to this. I know how to work on my stuff and im trying to avoid taking it to a shop no need to pay someone for what I can do

What could go wrong ...
    You need a 1 1/8 threadless headset and you can tap out the old one and press in the new one ... just take your time and check the Park tool website for good instructions for any bike repair
    I used to ride to Win ... Now I ride to Grin

While my guitar gently weeps, my bike sits there mocking me

Former Bike Wrench
    Great deal on a solid cartridge bearing headset

Cane Creek S-2 Headset 031234007303 at Cambriabike

mtbr member
    Sep 2011
    i notice all of these have star nuts as fasteners. My current setup looks like this

Is it just out dated? the o-ring goes around the three gripper pieces.

mtbr member
    Did you try replacing the bearings, or just cleaning them? Replacing them might help (I'd get confirmation from someone else first). Otherwise, the headset mtnbiker72 posted looks like a good deal.

mtbr member
    Jun 2006