1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Oct 2013

Need a Low Priced Mtb

I am a college student at Texas State University (poor college student ;D) and I was looking at road bikes, but then I think that I would end up wanting to do some offroading trails in Austin, TX on the weekends.

Can anyone recommend me a fairly inexpensive option for a new Mountain Bike that would be optimal for offroad (maybe hilly college campus life as well; but not a priority)

Thanks in advance

mtbr member
    What do you consider fairly inexpensive. That is a different value to everyone.

My advice for any of my friends who want to get into mountain biking at low cost is to look for used.

here are some resources:
    Bicycle Blue Book - Used Bikes
    BikePedia
    Noob Guide to Buying a used MTB
    Noob Buyer's Guide

mtbr member
    Oct 2013
    Sorry for the vague response. I would like to spend 250(unrealistic I know)-450 at max.

I was looking at bikesdirect.com

mtbr member