1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Mar 2010

need help picking between these two bikes.. plz help

ok i found what i think to be two pretty good bikes for the money , but i am not a expert so i would like some help the get the most bang for my buck.

fyi i plan on doing mostly road with some trail runs, but i would like a bike with good components that is light enough to do an occosional long ride.

thanks

http://newjersey.craigslist.org/bik/1679122673.html

http://newyork.craigslist.org/fct/spo/1678312588.html
    it turns out the super v is actully an 01 model and he said he would sell it for less then 500. here is the 01 link

http://www.bikepedia.com/QuickBike/B...+500&Type=bike

mtbr member
    Jan 2008
    If you have up to a $500 budget I would look for either a new or used hardtail. The two bikes you posted are pretty old and probably not worth it.

MTB skillz = NADA
    Personally, I wouldn't buy one of those old FS for "mainly road riding". Take the same amount that you are going to spend on one of those bikes and buy a new hard tail from a local bike shop.

The upkeep on those old bikes will drive you crazy, plus why are you looking for a FS bike for the style of riding you describe?
    Since I don't like writing, I don't have a blog to pimp. This space for rent.

mtbr member