1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Oct 2013

Need help for new bike purchase

Hello everyone! I'm fairly new to cycling, although I did ride a good amount as a kid. I'm looking to get into xc/trail riding again as a form of cardiovascular workout and to spend more time with my kids. Having not ridden in a while I find myself needing a bit of help choosing a bike. Due to budget constraints I'm looking to start with big chain store bikes instead of a lbs. I'm 6ft and about 235lbs. I know the bike frame I should be riding is around a 19". Here are some of the bikes I am looking at:
    Mossy Oak 26-Inch Men's Mountain Hunter Mountain Bike : R4992 : VMInnovations.com

I also just found the Diamondback Response XE 29ER at Dick's sporting goods for less than $400.

What are your thoughts? I know I have a lot to learn, but I am looking forward to getting a bike and getting out and riding it.

Sleek Jamis Exile Rider

Need help for new bike purchase

The diamondback is a decent place to start. It's not much out of pocket to decide if you like the sport or not.

I bought a bike when I started riding 3 years ago from academy. It only took. 3 months before I upgraded to a great used bike and now im building up a new to me niner air 9.

mtbr member
    Aug 2008