1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Feb 2013

New question here. need help with mountain bike helmets

I'm new to mountain biking, and planning on hitting some trails soon. Probably nothing too extreme, but I would just like some advice on helmets..
    I browsed a similar thread about helmets on this forum, and from what I saw it looks like all helmets have to meet the same specifications as far as protection, so as long as it fits snug the brand doesn't matter all that much.. Is that correct?

If so, is something like this off of ebay ok even though it seems to be a no brand from overseas? It's only $10, so I definitely like the price but is this any less quality than a different name brand one that's on the cheap end?

Assorted Color MTB Bike Bicycle Adult Men's PVC EPS Helmet 18 Holes Ultra Light | eBay

I also saw this Specialized one for $30, is this any good, or drastically better than the cheap $10 one?

Specialized Align Black Helmet 54 62cm Brand New | eBay