1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jul 2013

Nausea during/after rides?

A little bit about me....
    Im very new to mountain biking. Im not in the worst of shape (always room to improve), im very tall and thin. 6'3" 170lbs. Live in south florida, 900% humidity and typically 90 degree days in the summer.

The scenario...
    The trail that's close to my apartment is about 1.5 mi away, so i ride my bike to it. 2 weeks ago i made the mistake and rode at noon on a friday. Well needless to say i got very nauseous and eventually vomited on my way back to the apartment. I couldn't finish the trail. Went to my LBS, spoke to them about it. They suggested that i try some hammer nutrition products and to see if it helped. The also said that i needed to hydrate while riding, so I invested in a camelpak too. The gave me some single serve packets of HEED and PERPETUEM to try. Well on Sunday morning around 6am i get up and get everything together, followed the directions on the packets, and hit the trail. It seemed that the hammer products helped, as i didn't get sick at all. GREAT!