mtbr member
    Jul 2011

My new pedal order

I decided to finally give clipless a shot and I just pulled the trigger on some new Shimano 520's and some SH-56 cleats to help me get started. I wanted something I could get into and out of easily to learn with.

Any tips or hints for me since I am new to clipless?

mtbr member
    Nov 2009
    Turn the tension down to start with and then practice on a soft surface like grass.
    Not much more to it really. Practice practice and soon it will become second nature.
    Good luck!

mtbr member
    Jul 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by buckchoi View Post
    Turn the tension down to start with and then practice on a soft surface like grass.
    Not much more to it really. Practice practice and soon it will become second nature.
    Good luck!
    Thanks. Is the tension adjustment fairly simple to work with?

mtbr member
    Nov 2009
    From memory the 520s have a +/- etched onto the pedal around the tension nut. Just turn it a bit towards the minus side on both sides of the pedal to lower the release tension.

Shimano's are pretty easy to get out of anyway.

Everyone has an embarrassing stack sooner or later when they can't unclip. For some reason it always seems to happen when everyone is looking

mtbr member
    You could start by adjusting the tension screws fully loose (loose = "-"). When I had SH56 cleats, I could just pull my foot out any which way. Zero learning curve. As you get used to them, or find yourself coming out too easily, you can adjust the tension tighter. At some point, you may want to go to the standard SH51 cleats that came with your pedals. Same process - start with the tension backed all the way off and snug them up as you get used to them.
    Use it, use it, use it while you still have it.

mtbr member
    Jul 2011
    Perfect. Thanks for the info and the help.

Salty member
    Quote Originally Posted by buckchoi View Post