1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.

Thread: my first ride

mtbr member
    Jul 2014

my first ride

Thursday, I purchased a new Fuji 1.6 Nevada 27.5" bike. I am a noob. Today on my first ride with my 17yo son, we rode 4.25 miles on the Huckleberry Trail near our house.

It's an easy trail but a blast! I can't wait to ride more!

Chris

mtbr member
    May 2014
    Right on! And who cares whether it's easy or hard, you're out there riding :~)
    We have met the enemy, and it is us. Pogo

mtbr member
    Jul 2014
    I'm a little butt sore today. Yesterday, during the ride, I found that I needed to raise my seat about 3 inches to take pressure off my knees. This changed the seat surface angle too much, I think. The front was pointed up too much and caused a pressure point. I adjusted it last night and took a test ride. It felt much better.

Now that I have raised the seat so much, I now feel like the bars are way too low. I have neck pain when I have to tilt my head back at acute angles. Can the bar height be adjusted? The seat is now much higher than the bars.

Chris

mtbr member