1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jul 2013

Mountain Biking on a rigid frame, Need tips!

Hi, I'm pretty new to biking off-road and I have a few concerns that I'd love to have answered

First off, I have an ancient Trek Mountain Track 800, this bike has no shocks whatsoever and it's a bit heavy too...because of this I get a bit scared to go down any descent where I could lose control.
    1. I'm afraid that on a rigid frame like mine, that there is no room for error and no leeway.
    2. I'm afraid that if my bike hits the wrong rock, hole, or gets wedged in a water dip, that I'll lose control of my bike and get tossed off.
    3. I don't really know what my bike can and can't do, but I don't know how to tell unless I personally try it, but since I'm not good, I can't see what it's capable of.

Second, is it even possible to truly mountain bike with a bike like mine? I'd hate to have to buy a new one...however I am looking at some Specialized mountain bikes, but I prefer not to spend the money now.

LAST OF ALL, If there are any of you who do mountain biking on rigid frame bikes, can you tell me how to best set up my bike to be ready for off road? it'd be even nicer to see a video of a rigid frame mountain biking.

This is my Trek Mountain Track 800