1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Mar 2013

Mountain Bike under $600

Hey everyone. I am new to mountain biking and am wanting to find a decent hardtail for under $600. I have been doing a lot of searching and reading reviews but was wanting some options from other people.
    I will be riding singletrack trails and some paved trails. Most will be beginner to intermediate trails for now.

Any advice is good advice!

Thanks

mtbr member
    Mar 2013
    One that I am looking at is the Motobecane fantom29 sport on bikes direct. I would rather have the fantom trail but they do not have my size in stock and I am not sure when they will have it again. I have never rode a Motobecane and was wondering how they rode?

--Raleigh--
    Craigslist, you can get a very nice hardtail for that budget on there even if you have to travel a few hours its usually worth the savings
    2011 Raleigh Talus 29 sport Commuter Mode
    2001 K2 Zed V Mountain Duty
    1994 GT Outpost Steel, Rigid Awesomeness

official eMpTyBRain
    If you are new and want to keep it simple, an Airborne Guardian is gonna give you your best bang for the buck. You order directly from the factory.
    ...and proud member of the anti-sock puppet desolation

mtbr member
    Mar 2013