1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member

New question here. Mountain Bike Rookie...

Hi all,

My name is Chris and I'm a complete noob to the sport. I would like some guidance/advise if you guys don't mind. I have some BMX experience from my younger years, but that's about it. I'm currently in search for a bike. I'm 6'1, 175lbs and have a budget of around 800. I've been eye balling the DiamondBack Recoil 29er Full suspension. I have 11 fused vertebra in my back and figured the full suspension would reduce the impact and provide a better riding experience. The recoil Seems like a good all around beginner bike. My riding will consist of light to moderate trails/weekend warrior stuff. I would like to hear from veterans on this bike etc.. Please direct me in the right direction. Thank you in advance.

Fat-tired Roadie
    $800 retail bikes tend to have a pretty harsh ride. Full suspension at that price thins what your dollar can do even more.

Set up nicely, FS bikes can have a much smoother ride. So I think that's a good idea.

My city supports a couple shops selling used bikes. I bet yours does too. Make a few phone calls. You can get quite a lot for $800 if it doesn't have to be new.