1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Feb 2013

Mountain Bike Learing Curve

I have been riding road bikes seriously for over 15 years. I probably crash once a year but not every time I ride. How can I lessen the steep learning curve and save my knees and elbows. I had my bike fitted and adjusted by local guru, watched videos and ridden with better riders. Thanks

mtbr member
    Mar 2013
    Hit everything with your mountain bike you avoided with your road bike.(maybe not the cars)

In all seriousness, I've practiced riding around my yard bunny hopping on and off the curb learning how to do a front wheel stand in the grass and riding manuals in the soft grass as well.

Ive only been riding a few times on the trails, but i go out in the yard 30-45 minutes every night and just mess around and I fell liked Ive improved a lot.

mtbr member
    Jan 2012
    What kind of situations are causing you problems?
    Here's a vid on cornering. Running down a grassy hill for practice all day imprints the moves and developes balance without the hard falls.
    Cornering with Fabien Barel - YouTube

mtbr member
    Jan 2013
    Quote Originally Posted by DG73 View Post
    Hit everything with your mountain bike you avoided with your road bike.(maybe not the cars)