1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Jul 2012

Motobecane vs. GT

hey guys,
    new to the sport and on the hunt for my first mtb. I know you guys probably get tired of these "which one is better" threads but heres another.

im looking at these two bikes on c-list both seem to be in good shape, but i am new to this and just dont know the in's and out's of bikes and components yet. so i figured id ask for help from some seasoned riders.

Motobecane:
    2010 Motobecane Full Supension Mountain Bike

GT:
    GT i-Drive Full Suspension Fox with lock out. Sram X9 Shimano XT

i am looking for a good all mtb, something that would be fine for some dh (nothing crazy) but also good for climbing and xc.
    Do either of these seem like a good deal, should I keep looking?
    any input will be appreciated,
    Thanks,
    Kyle.

Flow like water
    Neither of those bikes are attractive deals for me.

If you want to do downhill, a downhill bike is what you need. A used downhill bike is usually cheaper than the ones you are looking at. I don't think either of these are DH bikes.