1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Feb 2010

Motobecane Fantom Comp vs. Cannondale Rush 7 7

I'm new to the sport and I want to get the most bike for the money. My top two choices right now are the motobecane fantom comp and the cannondale rush 7. Both bikes agave fairly similar components and weight almost the same. I can get a new 09 model rush for $1350 and I can get the motobecane from bikes direct for $999.

Probably drunk right now

Well...

Quote Originally Posted by Kawi9_cf
    I'm new to the sport and I want to get the most bike for the money. My top two choices right now are the motobecane fantom comp and the cannondale rush 7. Both bikes agave fairly similar components and weight almost the same. I can get a new 09 model rush for $1350 and I can get the motobecane from bikes direct for $999.

It sounds like you've compared specs but you haven't actually ridden a bike? I'd ride as many different bikes as you can in your category. Go with the one that fits you best and feels the best to you.

Given your two, limited choices I'd go w the C-Dale because you can test ride it.

AZ
    banned
    Quote Originally Posted by Ken in KC