1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Oct 2009

motiv bike replacement parts

i am a noob, and i have a noob question
    i bought a Motiv Vortex costco bike for college commuting which was fine. now i'm starting mountain biking on local trails, probably mostly dirt and soil, and some part of the fire road consists of rocks up to the size of a human fist. and currently i'm trying to wait for the 09 epic comp price to go down. but meanwhile, i would love to replace the vbrakes to avid bb7 which the Motiv does have mounts for disc brakes. however, i would need to replace the wheels with 6bolt hubs like those on the alex dm24. so a set of 08 bb7, speed dial 7 levers, and the alex dm24 wheelset will cost me about 300 dollars.

question 1
    should i just wait till i buy the epic comp to be able to ride a bit faster with better brakes which gives me more confidence going downhill?

question 2
    the Motiv has 7 gears in the rear, and most hubs on the wheels are made for 8/9 gears, what can i do to solve this problem? spacers?

any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!!!
    eugene

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by gundamzaku
    i am a noob, and i have a noob question