1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Jun 2007

The most-mentioned beginner bikes.

I have no mountain biking experience, but I want to get started in the sport. After reading around, I often see the Giant Rincon, Trek 3700 and Specialized Hardrock mentioned. Of these threes, which would be the best? Are there other bikes I have failed to notice? Thanks for any help, I am anxious to get started.

mtbr member
    Jun 2008
    How much are you looking to spend?

mtbr member
    Jun 2007
    I think the bikes I listed are in the $370-420 range. But my range is up to around $500.

mtbr member
    you might want to check into Jamis, KHS, and Ironhorse brand bikes. they usually give you a little more bang for your buck than the bigger bike companies. rscycles.com sells ironhorse bikes online.

mtbr member
    Dec 2004
    In my shop the best frame, and upgradeable set-up is the Giant Yukon hardtail. ASwesome bike for the money (they usually leave the shop oin the 450.00 range). That new Yukon FX dual susser for 800.00 is an awesome bike fo rthe money as well (we have sold a few as well). But bang for buck-Giant Yukon.

mtbr member
    Jun 2008
    I have read and heard alot of good things from the Giant Yukon as well.

My LBS was tryign to push a Trek 4500 hardtail for 529.00