mtbr member
    Feb 2014

On the market for a new bike!

Hi All,

I have been playing around on my old Apollo Raceline Enduro for a few years now however I have just sold it and I am on the market for a new setup. We have some nice technical trails and open trails I would like to really get into. Previously I have taken it pretty easy on them.

I am looking for a top quality frame that will last with decent components, that if needed I can upgrade over time. From what I have seen during my research I am aiming for the top of the Alloy market and there is no use going carbon for the prices I am looking at.

From what I have read and spoken to the shops about, I think I would prefer the RocShox Reba RL over the Fox however I am open to anything. I do specifically want an easy to maintain well ridden shock and I loved the remote lock out on my past bike. Personally I think the CTD on the fox is a bit of a gimmick if you don't have remote lockout, as it means you can't change it easily according to your situation.

I have also noted that I would prefer to go more towards Shimano gear, I am not sure why, I just seem to have more confidence in them. I believe that aiming for a mixture of SLX/XT components will satisfy my needs.

Below I have a list of 6 bikes I have lined up. I have seen the Trek and Lapierre's in person and they look pretty good, however I am yet to see the Specialized. I prefer the forks and paint job on the Crave Expert and the Superfly 7 however I believe the components on the Crave Pro and Superfly 8 standout much better to me.

The Scott Scale seems to be the best value all round in my eyes, however I am not entirely sure about their frame quality. As I have mentioned above, I would rather get a good quality frame as a foundation and build from there.

From my research, if I could get the Superfly 7 frame and forks with the Superfly 8 components I would be fairly set.