1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    Machine

Looking to upgrade from Trek 3500

I'm somewhat new to the MTB scene, and I love it. I bought my Trek 3500 with the mindset of primarily road, sidewalk, and paved trail riding with the ability to go off-road if need be. The Trek 3500 filled that role admirably. Now that I've left the paved roads, I'm looking to upgrade my off-road capabilities. I'm looking for a solid, durable package in the $700 range that is solid enough to handle any moderate level single track, small jumps, and can also be easily upgraded.

I've looked at Cannondale F4 & F5, Trek 4300 disc & 4500, and an IBEX Alpine 550. I've done a little homework on components and their quality, and I've even considered building a bike. I just don't think I could build one of comparable quality for the same price as the bikes I've mentioned. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

mtbr member
    My first bike was a 4300, and absolutely loved it. Had it for a bit over a year before I upgraded to a Fuel EX 8. I don't know if you'll see MUCH of a difference between a 3500 and a 4300, they're both considered entry level recreational mountain bikes.

My suggestion: save up more, a good amount more, and go BIG.

Fat-tired Roadie