1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Dec 2013

Looking for Some Buying Advice

Hey there! Newbie here, hoping to learn from this wonderful resource. I'm in the market for a mountain bike. I've searched around the forum and found that everyone suggests hitting up their LBS. I will! I was hoping to get some preliminary info here from you guys so I have some semblance of a clue about what I'll be looking for. So first, a little background.

I have been riding my fathers Gary Fisher Mamba recently. I want to respect the fact that it is not my bike, so I want to buy one for myself. I have just recently started getting more into the sport, riding some more exciting singletrack trails. (Fountain Head in VA) So far this is about the extent of my experience, and where most of my riding would take place. I'd like a bike that wouldn't leave me looking for an upgrade in a few months. I have a budget of $1000-$2000 (Aiming for the lower end of that spectrum). I am also not a large person, which is another reason why I'm looking for my own bike (the mamba has a 19in frame and feels a bit big). 5'11" at around 170 pounds.