1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Feb 2014

Looking to buy a bike via Criagslist, complete newbie here.

The last time I was on a bike was 5 years ago at a resort in Canada.

In any case, I have been getting semi-bored of 'just hiking' and want to do some mountain biking here in Southern CA. I am looking at all these bikes.. and not knowing what red flags to look out for. If I wanna spend under $250 for a used bike, do any of these stand out to any of you? I wanna get one this week.

orange county bicycles classifieds - craigslist

Thanks.

(Also, first post, hello everyone, nice to be here and stoof! -Steve)

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Pixeltripper View Post
    The last time I was on a bike was 5 years ago at a resort in Canada.

In any case, I have been getting semi-bored of 'just hiking' and want to do some mountain biking here in Southern CA. I am looking at all these bikes.. and not knowing what red flags to look out for. If I wanna spend under $250 for a used bike, do any of these stand out to any of you? I wanna get one this week.

orange county bicycles classifieds - craigslist

Thanks.

(Also, first post, hello everyone, nice to be here and stoof! -Steve)