Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Looking for a 29er in the $700-$950 range. So many options I can't narrow it down...

1K views 21 replies 5 participants last post by  TheAtomicGoose 
#1 ·
Hi Guys,

I'm a relative beginner (This bike that I'm looking for would be my second serious mountain bike). I'm thinking I would probably want a 29er unless there's a reason I should really get a different size. I'm about 5'2" and 110 lbs, but will definitely be growing a lot. Also, if I'm going to get a good amount bigger, should I wait to invest in a nice bike until I'm full grown? It could be like 4 years. Anyway...good 29ers. Yeah. I'm looking for 'em.

Thanks!

#5 ·
You might consider cannibalizing it to build a new frame. Bike frames are not that expensive if you don't want them to be, and while you'll likely bump into some incompatibilities, as long as you're staying in the same class, those shouldn't be too bad either.

Another thing to think about is a "rolling chassis." It's not a terribly common offering, but I think On-One does it. It would be a frame, fork and wheels, and let you leverage the parts you already have to step up to a little nicer bike. Probably not as economical as just buying a complete 29er used, but something to think about.

Since you have a bike and it's too small, you can also use it to help you pick a catalog bike. How long a stem do you have?

#6 ·
Well, my problem is that I don't want to pour resources into a frame that is almost too small on me already, only to buy a new frame and find that the parts don't fit it. Also, my technical bike know-how is quite limited, and my frame is not particularly nice. I'm not sure how long my stem is...could you point me in the direction of my stem (sorry, that's probably a very novice question, but what can you do...)? Also, what's a catalogue bike? A bike that you buy out of a catalogue?
--Edit--