1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Mar 2008

Let's beat a dead horse.

I'm new to MTB (race Mx all the time) and looking for a better transition to clipless pedals. I currently have some cheap crank bros. and I'm not too comfy uncliping in technical stuff. Is there some other brand that is easier for beginners?

I post too much.
    One that is recommended a lot are shimano's 520's.

C S
    mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by snaky69
    One that is recommended a lot are shimano's 520's.
    +1. I'm riding 540s now, which are very similar to the 520s. I have no experience with Crank Brother's pedals (aside from the 5050s on my FR bike) so I can't compare the shimanos to the CBs. To aid in learning clipless pedals, I would spend a lot of time just riding (nothing too technical) and clipping in/unclipping a lot. You have to get to the point that you unclip without thinking about it. If you have to take even a fraction of a second to think about unclipping, that can be the difference between getting a foot down in time and tumbling off the bike.

A wheelist
    Quote Originally Posted by SoCalChilio
    I'm not too comfy uncliping in technical stuff.
    Then you're in terrrain that's over your head for your ability level. Go practise in the park.