mtbr member
    Jun 2009

A lesson to be learned...

I was trolling the local craigslist when I come across a post.

"aluminum racing trail bike has shocks 21 speed - $200"

Inside the ad says, "over 800 new no need anymore since injury please call Brent 330-xxx-xxxx"

Ok, I'm curious... what could it be? I send an e-mail...

"Who is the manufacture of the bike?
    What is the frame size?
    Since it use to be a racing bike, what components are on it?
    Pictures?"

Here's the response:

"next is brand 26" wheels im not a pro rider, ernie at ernies bike shop said its top of the line come and see it is the best I can tell you usb broke on my camera call me to set up a time to see it 330-xxx-xxxx anytime today is good will take obo its the nicest aluminum one the bike shop had when I bought it Im in massillon that is all the input on e-mail I can give you keep in mind it was $800.00 new 4 years ago"

Ok... I've been to that bike shop. No way in HELL would they tell him that a NEXT bike is a top of the line bike. There's also no way in hell anyone in their right minds would pay $800 for a NEXT bike.

For all you guys looking for a bargain on craigslist, be careful. There are a lot of scammers out there. I don't know if this guy was actually scamming or actually got ripped off to begin with and doesn't know any better. Heck, I guess it could be a NEXT frame with all XTR or X.0 components and Fox fork... but I doubt it.

mtbr member
    Apr 2010
    That's what craigslist is all about. If we didn't have craigslist, where would all the scammers hang out?

mtbr member
    Jun 2009
    Quote Originally Posted by GDubT
    That's what craigslist is all about. If we didn't have craigslist, where would all the scammers hang out?
    eBay.

mtbr member