1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Dec 2012

Keep Getting Knocked Off my Pedals on Uphills

Okay, I'm a beginner to this sport and have enjoyed every moment I have on my bike except for on the uphill sections where it starts to get rocky, I'll often find that I have to keep pedaling and as my rear tire makes contact my feet will get bucked off and I lose all momentum and have to walk my bike past that section to continue my ride. The accent is relatively steep so I can't carry a whole lot of speed to be able to make it up the rocks without pumping away.

My bike is an Iron Horse Quantum II which is a hard tail with Rock Shok Dart 1s up front. I have standard pedals and wear flat soled skate shoes while riding. I enjoy riding the HT as it's practical for me, the only issue I have with it is what is stated here and that I'll need to upgrade the forks.

Is there anything I can do to alleviate this issue, or am I doomed to having to walk these sections due to owning a HT?

Thank you for any advice on this matter.

mtbr member