1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Jun 2014

Jamis Dakar AMT Mountain Bike 2012 for first MTB ?

Hello all,
    I am very new to MTBiking. I have not ridden in the last 10 years but I believe I will enjoy riding in the wilderness. I will be riding in the local trails in Maryland and North Carolina. Nothing aggressive as my 30 + year old back can't handle all that stress.

I read through a lot of posts and Trek Superfly 9.6 came in as a recommendation here at around 2300 $ . However, I found this bike for 1850 $ and since it's a full suspension bike I think it will be easy on my body as well. However, I don't know if the fork will be unsuitable for regular trails ( as it seems the bike is more geared towards downhill- I might be wrong)

I was about to buy it but thought of asking in the forum before pulling the trigger.

Here are the specs
    Jamis Dakar AMT Mountain Bike

Frame Kinesium alloy, 150mm travel, mp4 linkage design, cartridge bearing pivots, 1.5- 1 1/8Ē tapered head tube, asymmetrical chainstays, 12x 135mm thru axle, ISCG03 chainguide mounts, RockShox Monarch Plus RC3 high volume shock with 10mm hardware, replaceable derailleur hanger, maxle lite rear axle