1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.

Thread: Introduction

Jul 2012

Introduction

Hello everyone.

Mick here. I've been following this forum for a little while (2+ months) and decided to register. I see a wide range of experience on here, from total beginner (me) to total pro (kinda). As for me, I'm an IT consultant in the Houston area full time. I am 26, happily engaged to my fiancee, Sarah, and a proud father of our 11 month old son, Noah. I live in the Missouri City / Sugar Land area. Oh yeah, I'm also addicted to Silverchair and all types of Dubstep, especially deadmau5 (of course)

I am a total beginner of all things mtb! I rode BMX all my life until I was around 16 years old, and then it got stolen right out of my parents' front yard! Yes, shame on me for leaving it outside Well, here I am, 10 years later, trying to get fit again. I am 5'11 and approximately 195 lbs. I tried going to the gym, but it just wasn't my thing. Running, not my thing either. I have a set of nice Bauer blades, but it just gets boring as I have too many limitations right now.