1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Sep 2013

I'm new to 2x10 - can I use all 20 combinations?

Hi, since I'm new to 2x10 I would like to ask is it possible to use all 20 combinations (both gears using 10 combinations each)? for example the smallest ring in the front (high power) with the smallest ring in the back (high speed)? Or should the utmost rings in the cassete never be used with the contradictory front rings? I don't have an indicator which gear I am using at the moment and I sometimes get the feeling I am killing my chain. On the other hand there are also 1x10 and 1x11 systems where you have no choice but to stretch your chain ... some tips please! BTW I have Sram 1000 and X9.

mtbr member
    I always try to avoid hitting the 2-3 smallest cogs in the rear when in the granny. Usually your front derailleur will let you know by that annoying rubbing sound.

That being said, when using a 1x system the ring in the front is always in the middle position. That is what allows one to use all 10 in the rear without issue.

mtbr member
    Sep 2013
    thanks for sharing your experience

mtbr member
    Jun 2006
    I always try to avoid direct diagonals it in high gear going front going to largest ring in the back and vice a verca. this was also suggested by my mechanic

mtbr member
    Jul 2013