1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Apr 2013

Im looking for a good hardtail 29er for around $600

Hello everyone.

Im new to biking and could use some help picking out a decent mountain bike to start with. Iv done a little research but I still don't think I know enough to pick out the best I can afford.
    What do yall think about the GTs around $600 like the karakoram, avalanche or timberline??

Any help would be much appreciated.

mtbr member
    Based on my extremely limited knowledge and research, I would recommend watching Craigslist for a lightly used Trek, Cannondale, Specialized or Giant. For that price range you can find a pretty decent 26" but don't expect top of the line components. If you want a 29er, they are bit harder to come by used and they seem to be holding their value better than 26ers so the deals aren't as abundant. I had about the same budget as you and for that money I expect one of two things... a good starter bike that will let me see if I fall in love with MTB and then upgrade to something a bit better later on or a good starter bike that I can easily resell and recoup most of my investment if I decide that it just isn't for me. Either way, buy used and find a good deal and you won't be out much if you upgrade or decide to bail.

mtbr member