Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

I have loose wheel bearings up front.

4K views 8 replies 4 participants last post by  wschruba 
#1 ·
Hi, please bear with me as I'm new to mountain biking.

I bought an '07 Haro X7 off craigslist recently and on my second trip out today I noticed my front wheel bearings are pretty sloppy, I get a lot of left to right movement of top of the tire. I can't figure out if the hub has replaceable bearings or not, I haven't taken it apart yet.

The hub's only markings are 'Divit Disc' which returned next to nothing when I searched for it. The front end is a Marchozi Drop-off from 2006 I believe, the front axle is a 20mm.

Do I need to buy a new hub that comes with the bearings?

Thank you for your patience and knowledge.

Erik

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
Umm, first make sure that the play is in the hub and not the fork. So when you move the wheel from side to side look to see if the play is at the axle or up in the forks. If it's up in the forks then you'll need to rebuild or replace them. If not, then you'll prolly need new sealed bearings in the hub that I would think should be replacable.

#4 ·
Take off the wheel and make sure the axle is in good shape. Like no groove in it or any visual imperfections. Then you'll know that it's the bearings. I will assume that the bearings are bad.
If so, then have to find a 20mm thru axle bearing set with the same OD as the original set. The bearings should wear before the axle, so I'll assume the axle is fine.

#5 ·