1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Oct 2013

Smile I cant decide which bike to buy.

Hi guys/gals. I am new to mountain biking, and currently in the market for a bike.

I have max 1100 dollars to spend, but would like to keep it around the 800 dollar range.

I am unsure if I should buy a HT or a FS bike. I do not really know what brand / models I should keep an eye out for. I am interested in Down hill / freeride, but once I get comfortable on a bike again would like to go back to dirt jumping too.

I am looking at a 2012 Santa Cruz Heckler d am for 1100, but am in the process of getting the price down to 700-900 dollars if that is even possible.

Please let me know what brands / models you think i should get. I am 6' 240 " on a cut though so will weigh less soon " ..

Thanks..

T.W.O.
    If you can find a Giant Reign X in your budget and in good condition it would be awesome too. Heckler is a great buy.

mtbr member
    Oct 2013
    what years ? newer the better?

T.W.O.
    well yeah But a few years old on the reign is ok as long as they are in a good condition.

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    Newer doesn't mean less worn or beaten .You need to look at everything.Those kind of bikes take a beating ,look at them real careful.

mtbr member
    Oct 2013
    ok i will...