1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.

Thread: Hybrid tire?

mtbr member

Hybrid tire?

I was just getting into riding (I was a beginner then so I'd consider myself still a beginner now) a little more than a year ago when I had a pretty bad wreck last April that kept me off the bike for the better part of 4 months and immediately upon recovery I became insanely busy so I haven't had a real chance to get my bike fixed (I replaced what I could but there is some slight bending I'm going to get repaired this Thursday).

I'm wanting to get back out there but still don't have much time, so since I can't make it to the trails through the week (and even most weekends) I thought I'd do some road riding to get back in shape until the opportunity presented itself. I stopped by the LBS to check out basic road bikes but was turned off by the fact that an average ride ran $1000-1500.

I don't want to have to buy an extra set of rims to put road tires on and switch them in/out according to conditions so I thought I'd look into some sort of hybrid tire that I could leave on. I'd heard someone talking about them, how they were smooth down the middle section and then knobby on the sides.