1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Sep 2008

How to RAISE height on a stemless handlebar system?

I think i'm screwed. I get severe muscle pain in my neck/traps after a 20 mi ride because my handle bars are too low. Right now they have about 5 spacers underneath and a top cap. (sorry im a noob to all this, but it appears I can't raise it by adding more?)

How do you raise a handle bar on this system? And why would GT make a XXL bike without a adjustable handlebar? I'm 6'4, bike frame is 23".

http://smg.photobucket.com/albums/v6...t=IMAG0292.jpg

(borrowed picture)

Do I just add more spacers? What size do I need?
    Last edited by adrianm1188; 07-25-2011 at 09:21 PM.

mtbr member
    Your pic didn't work for me. You need the steerer of the fork to be at least as high as the top bolt (not the one on the cap but the bolts on the side) that holds the stem on. Can't see the pic but if you have spacers above the stem you can move any or all of them below the stem to raise it. Again can't see your pic but you could get bars with more rise. A shorter stem and/or one with more rise will put you more upright as well.
    Might wanna watch a youtube vid of aheadset adjustment, and one of fork or stem install so you do it right.
    the strongest trees grow on the windiest plains... ~Tone's