1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Aug 2009

How many fingers do you use on your brakes?

I have been riding regularly for several years, and just two months ago, I upgraded to a bike with disc brakes. The improvement in stopping power is awesome, and I have much more confidence going downhill now (also due to the change to full suspension).

I have noticed that in pictures of people taking jumps and downhills, many seem to use just one finger on each brake. I have tried it, and it does seem like I can probably get enough stopping power, but it seems to take more effort and I don't feel confident in my ability to make a sudden stop or slow down suddenly when going downhill. It also feels like my fingers can slip off the levers more easily.

I am wondering how many people here use two fingers with their disc brakes. Are there any good reasons why I should challenge myself to learn to use just one finger on the brakes? Or should I just go with what is comfortable now?

Thanks!

fresh fish in stock...... SuperModerator
    go with what's comfortable...IMO...

for me i run single fingers on my hydraulics.....for my V's and canti's it's 2 for the rear and 1 for the front. (general rule)