mtbr member
    Aug 2017

How to maintain tubeless tire and other things?

I have very recently bought a mountain bike. I bought a Trek Roscoe 7, which I felt was the best when I rode it. I love the feel and the way it just goes over everything. They then insisted on tubeless, so I did.

I know absolutely 0 on how to inflate the tire when it needs to be done. Really need help with this. I am a complete newbie, so any advice that is as simple as possible would be awesome.

Feel embarrassed to ask this, but I have been wanting to do MTB for years and so I just decided to jump right in.

Also, have no equipment for inflating it. No idea what to get and didn't want to ask bike shop and pay more when I know i could get cheaper.

I'm a 100% noob, but I will get better!

mtbr member
    Mar 2017
    Any normal bike floor pump is fine, inflate just like you would with tubes.

mtbr member
    The first thing you need to do is look at your valve stems. If they look like the ones on your car, they are Schrader valves, if they are thinner than the valve stem on your car and have a little knurled on top then they are Presta valves. Since you specifically mentioned tubeless tires, Presta valves are more likely. You'll need a pump that fits your valves, some will have a double sided head that fits both.

All tubeless tires lose a little pressure over time, so you'll want a tire pressure gauge to check that with. It's impossible to give you a precise air pressure to run, because there's just too many variables to consider. You can ask the shop you brought it from what they suggest, or you can use the time honored approach of filling them to near the max pressure printed on the sidewall and then decreasing pressure as you ride until it feels "right" to you.