1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    iroar

How long is your daily ride?

Hi, NooB here. Just got my first MTB and am having a great time so far and see a long future in biking.

I'm lucky enough to have bike paths all over the area I live, and one that begins practically right outside my door. I've been riding twice a day, morning and afternoon (I am fortunate enough to be self-employed and work at home, so I can get out whenever I want). The ride is about 20-25 minutes (I estimate approximately one mile round trip), up and down hill, mostly concrete and pavement, some dirt, but I'm expanding it a little bit each day. Right now, while I'm still out of shape, it is a fairly grueling ride, but I think riding twice a day I will build my endurance fairly quickly.

I guess what I'm asking here is for those of you who ride daily, how long is your usual trail? How long did it take you to build up to that? Does your endurance just keep getting higher and higher or do you hit plateaus?

Thanks!

Jeff

mtbr member
    Mar 2006
    After a 5 year break, I just got back into mtb. I ride about 4 times a week and I do anywhere between 4-12 miles depending on the trails and my energy levels. I have been riding for about a month now.

I say just goes with what feels confortable. Unless, of course you are getting ready to race