1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.

Thread: how to keep up?

mtbr member
    Jul 2011

how to keep up?

I've been riding for about 2 or 3 months now, beating the heck out of a Diamondback Overdrive 29er for about 7-10 miles a day 3 or 4 times a week on good fun intermediate-advanced trails (Blankets Creek, Olde Rope Mill & Sope Creek for anyone in the Atlanta area). I've made friends with a group of riders I usually end up riding with and they're teaching me TONS but man, they're fast sometimes. I can keep up great and even go ahead of a few folks in line for the faster downhill sections, but when we hit the long uphill rides, I run out of steam fast & can't keep up.