1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    May 2007

How the heck do you ride?

I know it sounds crazy but I just bought a new mountain bike (trek 4300) and I'm new at riding. So far I've been cruising around the neighborhood and felt real comfortable and in control. Well today I decided to try my first trail at the park in my area (cheesequake NJ). what a disaster. I felt like I was 6 years old learning how to ride a bike again. I found myself walking up steep hills with the bike, carrying the bike over large branches, and banging the bike up pretty good! Still had fun but it had me concerned...does it just take practice to get better or are there techniques and tricks that one should know before venturing out? I don't want to kill myself.

Thanks in advance.

mtbr member
    Dec 2006
    Some "advice" for another beginner, just keep on spending time in the saddle and you'll get better. Read the beginner forums for techniques on how to climb, decend, weight transfer and other stuff..

Climbing - the more you ride, the stronger your legs will get. For steep climbs, butt on the very nose of the seat, arm out and chest to the handle bar to lower your center of gravity. This will also help you keep your rear tire gripping the ground